Non-threaded

Forums » Advanced Editor Forum » Read Thread

Get help from the experts on variables, scripts, items, and other scary things.

Real Time Scripting—Possible?

8 years ago

Once again, probably a stupid question, but is it possible to do real time scripting? AKA: an actual timer that when reaches zero it cancels out a certain option.

I'm pretty sure I already know the answer (it's a turn based story-game. Why would there be real-time events?), but I'm still a noob when it comes to scripting.

Thanks,
    —Jack

8 years ago

That would be bonkers cool. (Of course the "go back" button would kill it) Still, I hope there is a way to do it, though finding that way is far past my paygrade.

8 years ago

I know exactly what you mean. LOL!

8 years ago

That'd be very interesting and great to use, but I don't think it's possible.

I suggest posting this in the Feature Wishing Well.

8 years ago

I'm not so sure it would ever get in due to how weird the language on this site already is. The only way I can imagine it working, with the code already in place, is to have a sort of dynamic link (I'm not talking about a DLL) that automatically clicks itself over and over again, sends you to the exact same page, and just changes a few variables until it reaches a certain pre-set number.

EDIT: After reading what I just wrote, I'm going to go put this in the feature wishing well.

8 years ago

It has been suggested at least twice already (1, 2), and the general consensus is that with varying reading speeds and the back button, it's not really a good feature for the medium. It is possible to do with JavaScript, though.

8 years ago

I understand why, with a normal story game it's a bad idea; reading speed. But, if we made this a possibility, it would open up a whole new category of interactive fiction—video games. For example, somebody could make an ASCII game using CYS code. HOW AWESOME WOULD THAT BE?! @_@

8 years ago