Non-threaded

Forums » The Lounge » Read Thread

A place to sit back, hang out, and make monkey noises about anything you'd like.

Religion

10 years ago

About a month back there was a discussion on this.  Well I'd like to say what I think about it, but on a thread that actually gets noticed because it is recent.

First off, I would like to say that I was offended enough by the religion discussion I mentioned above.  I am a Christian and I cannot blame you for denouncing my religion, but at the same time I want to hear what you all have to say about religion.

I am strongly opposed to the KKK.  I'm not an expert on it, but to respond to what was mentioned on that forum, people do things in the name of gods or causes that the religion does not believe in.  Almost all Muslims would disagree with the 9/11 attacks.  Also, I'm female and the Bible is really a changing word.  This may sound like nonsense for those of you atheists out there, but in no way can I say that I'm anywhere near being perfect.  That's why I'm offended when people say that Christianity is discriminated in terms of genders.

And...Christianity actually is, in my opinion, kind of different religions, although some are more "mainstream" than others.

I like to find things out for myself.  There are quite a few reasons why I am a Christian: 1) Yes, I have seen evidence of it.  In my brain, logically there kind of has to be a god or gods out there.  2) And if there has to be a god, why not Christianity?  If, as some people believe, nothing happens after death, then why not believe in something?  If something actually does happen after death and I'll be judged to go to heaven or hell, it kind of doesn't harm to be in heaven.

Still...I want to hear what people have to say on this.

Religion

10 years ago