Non-threaded

Forums » The Parlor Room » Read Thread

Questions about a storygame? Thoughts on Eternal? Any other IF you're playing out there?

What do you look for in a Fantasy Story?

9 years ago

I am having a go at writing a Fantasy Epic but outside of Lord of the Rings I have no knowledge of the genre so I am wondering what do Fantasy Fans like reading? I imagine it's some of the following:

- Interesting and unusual creatures that are original enough to inspire interest

- An exciting story in unfamiliar lands that have enough detail to be believable

- Main characters we can identify with facing extremely mentally, physically and emotionally challenging dangers and situations.

So, specifically what are people's favorite fantasy books or series and why? (or if you don't like the genre why not?)

9 years ago

I usually read it for the violence, magic, and Dark Elf sex, but a creative plot is always nice.

9 years ago

Stray away from cliches and other annoyances, like:

• Black and White Morality
  • Races that are "always chaotic evil"
  • Using the word "sentient" to refer to human-like races.
  • Explicitly stating that the use of a certain type of magic isn't evil, only to have all people who use that form of magic be unambiguously evil.

Here are some things I would personally like to see in a Fantasy story:

• An alliance between humans and orcs. Let's face it, the way orcs are portrayed in most fantasies, they have more in common with real-life humans than Elves do.
  • A dragon mage. Yes, shouting in Skyrim was supposed to be a form of magic, and in most settings, dragons are said to be practitioners of magic. So, why don't we ever see more than just fire or ice breath?
  • Draco-lich. That is all.
  • Were-bears. No were-sharks or were-alligators, just were-bears.