Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

The Weird Adventures of Ren

7 years ago

So basically I've never written any story-based games before, but I've played a lot of them.  This is my first time and I'd like some ideas and maybe someone to help write it.  This is my description I have right now for the game.

Your name is Ren and you are are an orphan living in the small village of Osmos located at the very edge of The Empire. You are the only orphan in the village and because of that you are either looked down upon or beaten every day. This all changes on your 16 birthday, which is the day you pick your career. Everything that happens after that is up to you. (and a little before too) :D  Good Luck!

What do you think?  When you enter the game it gives another description sort-of, but it is cutoff by James the mayor's son.  James is the bully of the story (for now at least) and that's when I have things start branching out into different directions.  Any help would be appreciative!

7 years ago

This is your first game, so uh... try not to do anything complex with the whole 'you pick your career'.

Maybe James, despite being the bully of the story, isn't the main antagonist? As in, he might be the main antagonist at first, but maybe the Mayor is actually involved in illegal activies and is neglectful to James, and there's a path where you can convince James to help you expose the Mayor as a criminal.

Just my five cents.

7 years ago

I was sort-of thinking along those lines, but I never actually thought of making the mayor the bad guy! XD  Thanks for the advice and I really like the idea!

7 years ago