Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

What Up Everybody

6 years ago

Hello everybody! SilverSlayer here and, if you noticed, I'm pretty new to chooseyourstory.com. If anyone could give me some starting tips or anything that would be much appreciated. Peace out y'all.

What Up Everybody

6 years ago
Hi, welcome to the site.

My usual advice is to spend some time reading and reviewing a few of the Top Rated storygames before diving into any major projects of your own. It's a good way to get an idea of the quality level readers are looking for and make you aware of some of the advanced editor's possibilities.

There's a lot of good articles in the Help section, you'll want to check out the ones on scripting at least to get a handle on the basics there. (Even if your story's not going to heavily rely on scripting and variables, there's situations where they simplify things and can save you a lot of tedium as well as helping with organization, etc.)

Remember there's no rush to get your first story out, so you want to make sure it's polished and proofread and complete to make a good first impression. Starting with a smaller project for your first is usually a good idea too, CYOAs can get away from you fast if you're new at trying to structure them.

Anyway, have fun and stop by the Writing Workshop if you need any more specific feedback and advice.

What Up Everybody

6 years ago

You know, I've realized you often tell people to check the top rated games to see what we're looking for here.  If that was what someone told me the first time around, I probably would have run for the hills.  A lot of the top rated games are hard to aspire to.

What Up Everybody

6 years ago