Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Short Story Analysis Attempt

6 years ago
Commended by EndMaster on 12/11/2017 6:37:33 PM

INTRODUCTION

The way I see it, analysing writing is one way to improve your own. If you can find mistakes, figure out how something can be improved while also consciously commenting on what works and why, you are bound to figure out ways to make your own writing better.

This is difficult. I am no expert, but I can try, I can give it a shot.

So I encourage you to give it a shot as well. Doing this for a storygame, in general, is more difficult due to length and branching, the choices that are given and the impact they have, and everything else regarding the medium.

So I decided to try some analysis on a short story, since it is the writing itself that will ultimately make a story, in my opinion. You don't even have to type it all out, but I find that doing so helps with getting more concrete ideas out there. This way others can also help you out by pointing out mistakes in your analysis, which will further help you improve.

I encourage you to see if there is anything useful you can get out of my analysis, but also to keep your eyes open for stuff you disagree with, that way I can also improve (as long as you tell me that is).

It took a while to get it all structured like this, and there is many ways to go about analysis, this is just the way I chose to use this time.

If you wish to read the short story being analysed, it will be posted in a reply to this post.
Also note that I am analysing the story as is, I'm trying to only look at what is there.

ANALYSIS

CHARACTERS
Characters are important, they are a major part of any story and are a great way to provide engaging narrative.

Initial Response