Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Soliciting Feedback: A Cycle of Death

5 years ago

Hello!  

I wanted to ask for some feedback on my submission to the Creatures of the Night contest.  This is my first time writing a story of any sort, so I'd really like to see where I need to grow as a writer.  I appreciate the comment from LuvLee; I plan on putting in the planned content that was cut after the contest which should take care of that issue.

I'd like to know what people thought of the story.  Was the style interesting or boring and drawn out?  Did the characters (unlikeable as they may have been) feel like actual characters or one-dimensional?  Of the people that completed it: did you stop after getting the first ending?

I would be grateful for whatever criticism I can get, so that my future stories will be of a higher quality.

Thanks!

5 years ago
Reviews will happen, feedback is always going to be slow with contest entries though. We just had 15 stories hit the main page at once.

5 years ago

Thanks, I'll give it some time, then.

5 years ago

Just reviewed, it looks like a good start.

I had to put down Steve's story to take a look at yours; now that you have 3 comments you can hopefully relax lol.

5 years ago

Thank you, I'm just eager to work on my personal development, excited by the type of feedback I can get from a community like this.

5 years ago
Saw you took the story down to work on it so I'll just post this here. Like Killa I thought it was strange the rating was so low, until I started clicking through the story. The writing itself was really well done and engaging from the start, you just kind of shot yourself in the foot with the linearity.