Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

Hullo, I guess

4 years ago

Well hullo there, fellow lover of storygames. I stumbled upon this gem of a website some years ago, but have only rediscovered it recently. Only now have I made an account, so yeah.

I guess this is just a post to say hi! I would also like to inquire about what you think makes a good storygame, is it good character development or creativity; vivid descriptions or a realistic world? I'm a little new to writing, having little experience outside of school, but this seems like a great place to perhaps practice.

Once again, hullo! laugh

Hullo, I guess

4 years ago
Ah, another "precocious" 12 year old, cool. Welcome to the site. I'd recommend browsing around and reading some of the featured storygames to get an idea of some of the possibilities (as well as the quality level readers are looking for). One of the more important things about a choice based game is actually the choices. You may have trouble getting a handle on plotting and pacing too; lots of new authors can't even manage that on a normal short story, and a CYOA is far more complicated and apt to spiral away from you. Setting and characters are an integral part of any story of course but you can't focus solely on those, it's all a balancing act. Strong imagery is very underrated and something of a lost art, but just make sure you can distinguish 'vivid descriptions' from purple prose. If not, it's probably just better to stick to the idea that less is more.

Hullo, I guess

4 years ago

Alright. Thank you very much for these tips... I really wouldn't call myself precocious either, if I ever do come off as pretentious or anything, I'll try to correct myself.

Oh yeah, and you seem to be everywhere on this site. Everywhere. 

Hullo, I guess

4 years ago