Non-threaded

Forums » The Lounge » Read Thread

A place to sit back, hang out, and make monkey noises about anything you'd like.

Slay the Spire

4 years ago
So I feel like I'm late to the party with this one, but I just started playing last night and I'm already addicted. I haven't gotten obsessed with a good roguelike in way too long. It scratches the same itch as Darkest Dungeon for me in a lot of ways and it seems really challenging, but slick and well balanced too for something that relies so much on randomness. And the art style owns, obviously. Even when half the point is being at the mercy of the RNG there's a lot of control and customization possible with the character builds and decks which I like, it feels like there's a lot of depth there and the randomness keeps you on your toes. Yesterday I was consistently getting killed on the second level, (The City?) at the final boss, even if it was a different boss, and I'm hoping to correct this embarassing state of affairs today. Weirdly I'm enjoying the lack of a plot so far, I've just been left to my own devices to piece together why everyone is in a weird bird cult and why an eldritch whale god is just sort of hanging out with me between lives and giving me cool things. It seems like a lot of you already have it (except End who hates card combat for some reason) but it's $10 in the digital tabletop bundle on Humble for the next couple of weeks and I've already gotten that amount of value out of it. Also with my hours being cut this is the laaaast game I'm gonna be buying for awhile so I'm glad I picked one with this much replayability. After this I'll just have to try and eke an existence out on my ginormous backlog of Steam sale stuff I've never even installed. It's hard, living in America.

Slay the Spire

4 years ago
The Silent is reeeediculous, I don't know if I can ever go back to Iron Clad now.

Slay the Spire

4 years ago