Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

WANTED: Constructive Feedback for Story Game Idea

3 years ago

Greetings writers and critics, 

I'm new to writing.  All I know is that I have some ideas I want to bring to life through story and explore concepts through a story game. Writing in this style seems to be a great way to keep the baby and the bathwater, which I have a tendency to grow attached to.  

The story I have in mind revolves around an outcast loner whose special abilities set him apart from society.  He will confront choices throughout the story game to develop his untapped potential and share his powers/abilities with the people he encounters.  If he does this skillfully, he will save himself (sometimes literally) and offer society something to chew on.  

Does this sound interesting?  Would you read it? 

Whether or not this interests you,  I would appreciate your constructive feedback on the excerpt below.  Be as brief of longwinded as you can while keeping it clear.  Thank you!

1.    Owed to Riches

You turn from the busy corridor onto a rugged mountain highway.  The vegetation spills over the road, determined to cross through growth alone.  Your headcover rattles on the dashboard as your tires pull through loose gravel.  You scan your route: a half-day along a commuter line dotted with outposts lie ahead of you. Centered in the middle of your forehead, a third eye fixates on the darkness not yet illuminated by the headlights, but your thoughts are on easy money. 

Smoke rises from the front of your vehicle as it rolls to an unresponsive stop.  You perform a series of fruitless reboots before giving up.  So much for getting an early start, you think. You step out into tall shadows cast by the morning light, stretching to ease the transition from prolonged sitting to the trek ahead of you.