Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

When Johnny Comes Marching Home [Readers Needed]

3 years ago

I'm a newbie completing an entry for The Jungle contest. I've taken my time getting it done, and hope that doesn't end up biting me in the butt. I've gotten most of it finished, just need to get several endings done and then proofread the story. I'd appreciate any feedback, though note that I'll get around to editing and fixing grammar and misspellings eventually. 

In the story, you take the perspective of a hardened Vietnam War sergeant. After the opening days of the Tet Offensive, you are back at the front commanding a new platoon against the Viet Cong. However, the jungle may hold more secrets and dangers than you'd expect...

I hope you enjoy!

Link: http://chooseyourstory.com/story/when-johnny-comes-marching-home

PS. Don't mind the comment in the storygame. My sister was messing with my computer and used my account to comment on my own story Lol. 

3 years ago
I can't read through it right now but congrats on getting this far! I was wondering if we'd get a Vietnam story.

Someone remind me to never bet money in a race based on Enterpride's guesses.

3 years ago
Commended by mizal on 7/3/2020 10:18:23 AM
Well done on proving me wrong.

So I looked at your story, there's some good and some bad. Below are my thoughts for improvements:

Overall, the whole story could use another proofread. There are some typos ('howizters' and 'his one of friends' on the first page) and weirdly placed commas that threw me off. Luckily, that's quickly helped if you put your attention to it.