Non-threaded

Forums » Feature Wishing Well » Read Thread

Suggestions for improvements and additions to the site.
This feature was rejected 4/5/2014: You should just use the advanced editor.

A Cause-and-Effect Option in the Basic Editor...?

10 years ago

So, first of all, I'm a total noob and I haven't even touched the advanced editor yet. I haven't even published a story yet. HOWEVER, I am working on my first one in the basic editor. While working on it I thought, "Wow, this sure is repetitive," due to the kind of game I was making. Then I thought, "Well...all I'd need is some kind of cause/effect thing to clean up my game!"

The stories of this game are kind of like looking at a 2-d double helix; the branches split apart, then come back together, over and over. This makes it to where I have to make two or more copies of certain pages if only to keep separate universes unique. This gets tedious and confusing over time; even just planning the separate branches starts getting confusing.

But, with this cause/effect option, it'd make it to where I could bring the universes back together for a page or two then split them again without any hassle. It wouldn't be difficult to use (at least for me; that's the point of keeping it in the basic editor...). It may look something like this:

If link [insert link here] was chosen previously, then clicking on [insert link here] will take player to [insert link here].

Basically, it means that if a player chose option A at a previous point in the game, clicking on this later link will bring them to a certain screen, as opposed to someone who chose option B, who would get a different screen. I don;t know if it makes any sense, but...well...

Maybe I'm the only one who writes like that, so others wouldn't have any need of this feature, but...well, I don't know. I'm not a site admin, just a geeky girl with ideas...

10 years ago