Non-threaded

Forums » The Lounge » Read Thread

A place to sit back, hang out, and make monkey noises about anything you'd like.

Offsite Writing Jam?

3 years ago
Hey, if anyone is familiar with the old school parser based interactive fiction, I'm currently trying to recruit a few good CYStians for a writing jam on another site this weekend. There is this program called ADRIFT (the site is as old as this one and the color scheme hates you, please wear protection) which is designed for complete beginners to just pick up and start using with no coding knowledge. It's Windows only, but everything is just clicking or selecting from drop downs and typing your story text in boxes. With a traditional game you create locations, you link them up into a grid map and describe them, then you create and describe the objects in the locations. There are 'tasks' that work like simple scripts, where you pick actions and restrictions from drop down boxes and then type the response the player gets when they use the right command. There's a lot of complex stuff possible too, RPG systems and the like which those of you who played Skybreak! a few months ago would have seen, but it's fine to remain blissfully unaware of how all that works and just make a normal game. But the prompt for the jam is very simple: http://forum.adrift.co/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=12681 And as you can see, the games are supposed to be "narrative focused" so this is ideal if you just want to ignore all of the above and use the program to write a normal CYOA. It's a tiny community so there's just a handful of people entering so far, and any games are going to be really simple so this is a good no pressure way for beginners to get their feet wet. I'll have an example game file for making CYOAs uploaded in a bit. Although, I'm using the newest version of the program, and the old 4.0 is actually a lot simpler and fine for a straight CYOA, you probably wouldn't even need a guide in that case. It's not even necessary to j