Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

New Writer - Advice?

5 years ago

This is my first time making a storygame, and I've read a lot of the Help and Info page to try and see how to go about this. This is also my first time writing a long story, adn I really hope I do a good job. At the moment I have the foundation of the story, a biut of the world's history is setup, I even have a timeline that Ill post below, and I have a plot. Its a bit cliched, but I hope my writing manages to redeem it. The idea I had was that the MC is a cyborg in a futuristic utopian society that has to either stop the A.I uprising or join it - or even make your own side, while being basically hated by both sides for not being either a. A.I or a human. 

I just want to know how the plot sounds, and whether my timeline of event needs a bit more.

Edit: the website screwed up my formatting somehow and it wont let me post my timeline with paragraphs, so if you want to see it, just messgae me. 

New Writer - Advice?

5 years ago
Commended by EndMaster on 5/24/2018 7:03:56 PM
Plotwise, all of that is more than most noobs bring to the table, so it's a good start at least. I wouldn't worry too much about originality, there aren't too many original stories out there. Just focus on making it interesting and fun.

It's really not possible to overdo it on outlining though, especially for a first project. If you're not used to working within the structure of CYOAs, they're like regular stories on crack with alternate universes spiraling off all over the place so they can quickly get away from you if you're not careful or skimp on the planning phase. A common mistake newbies make is coming up with a story that sounds good when explained as the broad strokes in a paragraph or two, but once it comes time to actually break it down scene by scene they get overwhelmed and give up.