Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Suggestions/Tips for a Mystery Story?

5 years ago

Hello! I'm a newb working on my first storygame. This storygame is a Mystery/Comedy with a lot of focus being on the characters. However, I'm having a bit of trouble with the actual mystery side of it, which, yes, I realize is the whole point of writing a mystery. If anyone has any suggestions or tips, that would be most helpful. Thank you!

5 years ago

Hello! Sounds like a cool idea. My mind immediately went to the boardgame Clue. I imagine writing a mystery/comedy would be easiest if the characters were stuck in their environment. You could give choices that don't seem limited since, well, the environment is the limiting factor. It's kind of cliche at this point, but the whole locked in a mansion with people getting killed off thing would probably work well here. Throw in a few quirky characters, fun dialogue, and murder and you have a masterpiece! Choices could be searching rooms, looking for clues, interrogating characters, and deciding who the murderer is. 

5 years ago

That could work! Your suggestion is already giving me ideas.

5 years ago

Glad to help out. Just remember your ol' pal, ninjapitka, when you're a rich and famous published author.

5 years ago

Will do. Thanks for the help!

5 years ago
With a mystery you really need to work backwards a bit. With most stories you come up with a bunch of stuff about the main character first, but in a situation like this you figure out exactly what the guilty person did and when and why and how and what kind of evidence that would leave before you worry about the main character at all. The clues themselves when you have them all and put them together should prove that it was only possible for one specific person to do it, but that shouldn't be possible to figure out till right before the end.