Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

Hello, I’m new around.

3 years ago

Hello, I am new to this website and I would like to get accustomed to the community. I am also a good writer with not many ideas; I am currently working on one story. Could use a mentor to show me around and use the features such as scripts and variables correctly. (I read all the beginner articles but still a bit lost)

Hello, I’m new around.

3 years ago
Welcome! For a first story I'd advise not trying to write anything too massive, these stories can really get away from you if you're not accustomed to planning around all the branches. We've had many promising newbies go in expecting to write an epic and then just burn out before they're even halfway through. Something on a smaller scale is recommended when you're first getting a handle on the editor. Scripting and variables are all optional things just fyi, some of the most popular writers on the site don't use them at all. But if you could give an example of something specific you were trying to do, someone could help you more easily. And honestly, once you know how to do one thing with variables you know how to do a hundred different variations for most other scenarios you can think of. All a variable is is a labeled box that stores information, and at various points when the player clicks certain links you've set up you just tell the game to check what's inside whichever box and respond based on that.

Hello, I’m new around.

3 years ago