Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Episodic to Epic?

3 years ago
I'm not much for forums, but I'm still pretty new at the interactive choose your story format so I wanted to ask for advice. In the setting I write in, what I've mostly done is episodic slice of life style things. There -is- a continuity but it's a very loose one, and the POV will switch often. What I'm trying to wrap my head around now is how to convert all this into a proper flowing EPIC story, the kind you all seem to prefer here. All the small interactions I like to include need to lead somewhere, but it's not possible to make it a new path with new endings every time. And that's just one of the things I'm struggling with in plotting these. Any advice from the veterans? I really admire what I've seen of this site and I want to find a way to bring this setting that's been in my mind forever into reality, in a place where people might even read it.

Episodic to Epic?

3 years ago

I'd actually advise that you start out with several shorter stories. If you look at the profiles of the authors that write those epics you will see a number of shorter stories along with the occasional Epic. If you delve deeper into the writing workshop you'll see a number of authors that showed up to the site, talked about writing an epic, then got burned out and never showed up again.

I'd suggest that you start writing the slice of life stories you've come up with in small portions where you only have one POV. Switching POV isn't popular here and is difficult to do well in a CYOA. This will leave you room to improve your writing with editors and also lets you use future or previous characters as Easter Eggs.

Episodic to Epic?

3 years ago