Non-threaded

Forums » The Lounge » Read Thread

A place to sit back, hang out, and make monkey noises about anything you'd like.

The problem with horror writing( a wtf thread)

6 years ago

Alright people, there is a big difference from horror ain't terror. I would give you an excerpt of some crappy "horror" stories I know but just thinking of them makes me want to puke. I'm not saying I'm a expert horror writer, heck, not even close. But at least I can tell the difference.

Terror

Terror describes a feeling. To terrorize is to use extreme fear to intimidate writers.

Horror

Horror, however, also suggests elements of disgust and surprise or shock. Thus the word ‘horror’ describes not only extreme fear but also revulsion and a sense of surprise and the unexpected.

The point of this thread

Plz study your horror writing. If the reader is feeling terror before the horror begins, than your on the right track. Here is a good website for this stuff: https://www.nownovel.com/blog/how-to-write-horror-story-tips/

Thank you and have a great day.

6 years ago
Yeah it's been a pretty obvious thing for awhile now that a lot of people don't really understand horror anymore. Particularly people who make movies. Gore and jump scares aren't really horror at all though, they're tired cliches.

6 years ago

Lol, I'm looking at the first horror writing I did in,like, 4th grade. I guess I'm being hypocritical.

6 years ago

Wait. People still get scared by the horror genre? I figured it was just a label to put everything zombie, Cthulhu and psycho killer related.

6 years ago

There's a lot of good creepypastas and stories on the web. Just gotta find them.

6 years ago

Not sure if creepypasta would be the route to go with good examples of horror since a lot of them are terrible shit about haunted spongebob cartoons or Zelda cartridges. (Yes, something like Candle Cove is the exception)