Non-threaded

Forums » The Lounge » Read Thread

A place to sit back, hang out, and make monkey noises about anything you'd like.

Reality of war

12 years ago

So I have an english assignment tomorrow. I have to write a short story about the reality of trench life(World War I). If you can, can you give an example (Just a short paragraph) below. I'm a really bad writer and I want an example of good work by people who can actually write, so you guys came to mind.

Reality of war

12 years ago

Isn't that cheating?

also

http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/allquiet/

Reality of war

12 years ago
Trench warfare in WWI? Simple, compare it to a proverbial hell and state that mortars, faulty weapons, and mustard gas combined to make a surefire deathtrap for the US forces. Be sure to mention "No man's land" and barbed wire fortifications and I think you've got a lot of it down. Also be sure to mention the psychological conditions as well as physical ones.

Reality of war

12 years ago

Replace US forces with French&British Forces. The USA joined in late on both wars and russia still did more work during both.

Reality of war

12 years ago
True, in terms of World Wars, Russia's badassness exceedes ours by a lot.

Reality of war

12 years ago
If you're mentioning Russia in WWI, mention being told to pick up a rifle from the dead because there's not enough to go around. And lack of food, though being a soldier would get you preference over the people in cities. And you'd probably be a peasant with little idea of why there was a war at all, and just want to go home for the harvest.

Which if it's 1917, you'll probably do--desertion or not.

Reality of war

12 years ago

And a poor transportation problem which led to food and munitions shortages along the ranks.

Reality of war

12 years ago
Though that had been a more severe problem in the Russo-Japanese War.

Reality of war

12 years ago

but seeing as his project is on WWI that comment is absolutely useless to him :)