Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

Hello friends!

6 years ago

Hello friends,

I am a huge fan of these storygames and I have been playing them for a couple of months. I have always enjoyed writing so I decided I would try and make an attempt at creating one! Currently my favorite story game is Necromancer, but I also like many, many others that I have played here.

I would be interested to hear what influences everyone in their writing. My main literary influences are two-fold, one in terms of fantasy and the other in general.

In general, I really enjoy classical and medieval literature such as The Illiad, The Aeneid, The City of God, Beowulf, the Romances of Chretien de Troyes, Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, etc. In terms of more modern literature that I have been influenced by, mostly Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky but also Cervantes and Dumas.

In terms of fantasy, I started out(and still enjoy) Tolkien. I also enjoyed Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. Stephen Donaldson and Terry Prachett are also fantastic writers. Never been a huge fan of A Song of Ice and Fire but I have read it up until A Dance with Dragons. With fantasy, I am also influenced by video games I have enjoyed like Dragon Age: Origins, Baldur's Gate 1/2, Neverwinter Nights 2, Arcanum, Pillars of Eternity, and Morrowind.

Hello friends!

6 years ago

Sup. 

Hello friends!

6 years ago
Welcome to the site. I do hope you enjoy your time here.

Hello friends!

6 years ago
Hey, welcome to the site. You seem like a person who might enjoy making futile and ultimately doomed attempts to breath life into the Reading Corner.

These days I'm a big fan of Dickens and Kipling and a lot of other writers who have been dead awhile, as well as historical fiction and non-fiction and journals from back in the day.