Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Opinions on POV

6 years ago

I'm writing a storygame right now (not for the summer contest, just because I want to write) in first person POV. Now, I've already read the help article on point of view and have some experience with writing already, but I'm new to writing storygames (not reading them, mind you!). The writer of the POV article emphasizes that writers should never blend perspectives. That makes sense because you don't want to confuse the reader by writing something like: 

"I tripped into a giant, steaming bowl of pasta. You died."

(Who is You? Why did he die as a result of your mistake?) 

However, writing death scenes - which I now recognize as unfortunate but necessary in storygames to slim down the number of branches - is tricky . Unfortunately, death scenes written in first person are notoriously cheesy and usually sound like: 

"I teeter on the edge of the monstrous pot of swarming spaghetti noodles, but before my faithful companion, You, can grasp my hand, my foot slips down the steamy surface of the pot and hurls me into the writhing noodles. The noodles consume me and soon everything turns black. The End." 

First person deaths lack context, I think, and you can't do anything after the death unless you rise from the dead. My solution: making it clear that perspective is changing by moving to a new paragraph, using italic font, and writing in third person whenever I need to write a death scene. If you need a professional example of this in action, you should read the last page of All Quiet on the Western Front, where the author retells the death in third person on a separate page.