Non-threaded

Forums » Creative Corner » Read Thread

Take part in collaborative works, share your short stories, poems, original artwork and more.

Short story

4 years ago

I'm new to writing, and I would like some criticism on this little short story of mine. It's not necessarily horror even though I tried to add some creepy ambience into the story. It's just an idea that popped into my head one day, and I expanded on it. It's not exactly very good...but I still hope you enjoy reading it.

Cat and mouse

Anything can happen in the darkness of the night. 

Exhaling, she watched as her breath created a slight fog in the chilly air of the dark and unsettling forest. The night falls upon the woods. As any regular inhabitants of this world should already know, danger follows closely after the darkness that surrounds them. 

Red, glowing eyes seem to stare at her from the edges of the forest. She hears the rustling of branches and grass due to the movements of the lurking mobs. But they just stood there, staring at her and making their usual noises, as if something was causing them to go against the urge to walk forward. 

Something that scares them so much that they are going against their natural instincts. 

She adjusts the hood of her black cloak to cover more of her face to shield herself from the harsh weather and continues walking forward. 

After quite a while of walking, she suddenly encountered a quaint little wooden house. Smoke was coming out of its chimney and the door was open, spilling out the firelight inside as if promising shelter and warmth to all those who enter the cottage. 

A young man suddenly emerged from the house, looking over her with a warm and inviting smile on his face. He was tough-looking, with a scar on the right side of his cheek that seems to be created fighting mobs.