Non-threaded

Forums » Creative Corner » Read Thread

Take part in collaborative works, share your short stories, poems, original artwork and more.

After Impact: A Post-Nuclear Tale

4 years ago
Alternate title: Chris ignores his main projects and writes post-apocalyptic stuff. This is my first attempt at writing an actual novel and sticking to it. Most of this was written up in a caffeine fuelled haze so do point out any huge errors. I'll be attempting to serialize this with a new part every once in a while (AKA when I feel like taking a break from my main projects). There's quite a number of influences for this story, most of which are obvious (Fallout, Metro, STALKER, The Road). I also want to give a shoutout to TurnipBandit and his story Colored Lines and Dark Tunnels, which gave me the idea to serialize this story here as I write it. Here's a brief summary of the plot: The year is 2048, 28 years after a nuclear war that resulted in the collapse of society as we know it. A young man named David must venture from the safety of his home in the small town of Marston, Arkansas to seek out a way to eliminate the bandits and mutants plaguing it. Word has it that an elite paramilitary task force exists in the ruins of Little Rock, now re-dubbed Sanctuary. David's journey will take him from his sheltered life in one of the last bastions of humanity to the irradiated ruins of post-nuclear America and beyond. The story is written in first-person because I'm a pleb. The prologue will be posted shortly after this initial post. It's not very long, just barely over 1k words. As mentioned, it's also pretty rough, so please give feedback if possible. If this would be better suited for Writing Workshop, then do move the thread any mod who pokes in.

4 years ago