Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Poetry

11 years ago

Now I realize that CYS is a story telling site, but considering how many authors and writers there are hear, I felt that this was a good place to post some of my poetry. I'm not a professional poet, nor a good one, but I would like to get better. So I was thinking that I should post one of my poems on the site, and request constructive criticism. (The poem is long, sorry about that)

They hint to him,

They show him the true path,

In song, do they cry out,

And they are always right,

For without them,

The silent spring would follow,

And human folly will fly.

They lie without fear,

They simply lead, and are followed,

They sing out in song, when they wish,

And are gawking when they are harsh,

And the whole world would weep.

They chase those whose words disagree,

And clash those who say to the contrary.

They are sympathetic to none,

And yet get the sympathy all want,

And some watch with amazement,

As the crows get their meal,

From onlookers nearby.

The birds sing,

And the crows gawk,

A beautiful symphony of the great,

For while the Crows are gawking,

None pay attention to what the birds are paying.

The crows hide their face,

And sing the songs of the birds, no matter how off tune,

And get applause according to what they’ve done,

A magnificent showing of false effort,

And the birds are chased away.

The birds, singing without pressure,

Insult the crows, expecting to get by with talent,

And not pure pressure that the crows give,

To us to love the crows, and hate the song of the birds.

Oh how cruel are these birds!

That expect others to listen to their voices,

And turn away from the crows,

Who are simply gawking,

And start shining.

What do the birds expect?

That we shall insult the crows?

That we shall hurt their feeling,

That we deserve better?