Non-threaded

Forums » Advanced Editor Forum » Read Thread

Get help from the experts on variables, scripts, items, and other scary things.

HTML Question Concerning Fonts

5 years ago
I just tried picking up HTML today so I’m very new to it, but I just tried to use the code to change the font in a story description and it’s not working. I’ve tried fantasy/papyrus, and cursive. Do these fonts specifically not work, or does the coding not work in storygame descriptions?

Edit: Oh, and apostrophes don’t work unless they’re ' and not ‘ ?

5 years ago

The usual method of changing fonts is a styled <span> (or similar tag) for a snippet of inline text, or a <style> block for a larger, more automated font change:

<span style="font-family: Vollkorn, Georgia, 'Times New Roman', serif;">Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet…</span>

<!-- OR -->

<style>
body {
    font-family: Vollkorn, Georgia, 'Times New Roman', serif;
}
</style>

Any typeface is fair game, provided the end user has it installed on their system. You can and should specify multiple typefaces (comma separated and quoted is necessary), because there are only a handful of them that are (almost) universally available. At the very least, when you assign a font family you should also specify a generic family to allow the platform to choose an appropriate font as a last resort. Possible generic values are serif, sans-serif, monospace, cursive, and fantasy, but both cursive and fantasy should be used carefully because they vary wildly across platforms.

The encoding on CYS is fickle, so if you want to use certain characters, you'll need to "escape" them with "HTML entities," which are written as an ampersand followed by a text or numerical value and ended with a semicolon. In your case, the entities for ‘single smart quotes’ are &lsquo; and &rsquo;, and “double smart quotes” are &ldquo; and &rdquo;.

5 years ago
Alternately, she could recognize that Papyrus is for tools, and not do that.

5 years ago