Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Tips?

6 years ago

Hey guys, I've really been trying to gain motivation and creative juice to write a solid CYOA here. I have plenty of ideas flying around in my head, but motivation is hard to come by these days (depressing life shit) and I need to find it somehow. So, if you guys have anything that helps you on that front, please leave those down below.

But the main point of me posting this thread is transitioning from a comic book writing format to a full-fledged story. Some history: I've been writing for about 5 years, but as a child, I was literally grounded all the time and spend all of my free time writing. Well, in this time, I was not writing novels or short stories, but rather writing and drawing comics in an issue format. Ever since then, I've had plenty of ideas in my head that would fit neatly into this said format, but, I'm having trouble getting my thoughts into a novel format. I've also been out of writing for a couple of years.

I was just wondering if anybody would know how to train myself to format and plan my stories in a novel format (and I've browsed Google, and read plenty of articles that say plan, plan, plan, but I find it so difficult to do so.) Usually I have a solid plot with an open ending and endless subplots that keep the story juicy until the overarching plot is resolved. I found that I was very good at writing subplots and developing characters, but novel format is difficult for me.

I don't even know if this made sense, but fingers crossed somebody understands and will take time to help me out. Thanks.

Tips?

6 years ago
If planning doesn't work, have you tried just writing? Just sit down and start typing and see where your story goes.

Tips?

6 years ago
Commended by EndMaster on 2/17/2018 8:39:55 PM