Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

Opinions Needed

8 years ago

Newbie here, but working on my first story, Paranormal Beginnings (eh still working on the title). Its going to be a prequel to this paranormal investigator series I'm working on as a whole if enough people are interested. Because the main character\reader in Paranormal Beginnings is a child, it will be less of a 'detective' story and more of a survival horror type of game. Anyway, I want to get the public's opinion before getting started. Don't want to put a lot of time and energy into something nobody wants to read lol. So, what do you guys think? Is this a good idea, or a boring cliche story that's been done too many times before? 

Opinions Needed

8 years ago
Ideas barely even matter. What matters is your execution of said idea. Even an idea that is normally boring and cliche can be great if done right.

Opinions Needed

8 years ago

That's very true. Thanks so much for your input :) Hopefully, I can manage to pull it off.

Opinions Needed

8 years ago
Let your writing speak for itself. If the writing is good, people will enjoy the story. You write for you. No one else.

Now if you have questions about the logical flow, suspension of disbelief, or have a page typed up and you want general feeback on imagery, characterization, story questions, etc., those are good questions to seek public opinion and feedback on, since it can be difficult at times to separate what you, as the author, know about the story, and what your words are actually conveying.

Beginning + Rising Action + Climax + Resolution + Good Writing = A story that will be generally enjoyed by a target audience. So spend your time focusing on your plot, characters and quality of writing, not what people think about your idea. Every story has already been written anyway, we simply tell them with a new set of words.