Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

I'm a newbie and I need advice :)

8 years ago

So, I'm trying to create a storygame, and I'm confused about what category to put it in. I'm nowhere near done with it but I would like to know for future reference. It's sort of fanfiction, it's based on/around the world of the fandom it comes from, BUT the reader/player doesn't need to know anything about the show it's based off in order for them to play the game. The player learns as they go about the universe(which is a sort of paranormal setting, just for reference).

Any tips for where to put it? Should I put it in fanfiction and label it as the fandom, or just stick it in Fantasy, where its paranormal genre would fit?

8 years ago

If it is a direct reference to ANYTHING, like being in the same universe or having the same characters or something like that, it's fanfiction.

You could always just add tags later.

8 years ago

It won't have any of the same characters whatsoever. As I said, it's of a paranormal genre. The goal of the reader/player is to kill or somehow get rid of a demon that's possessing people at their high school, there are no direct references that won't be understood by people who haven't seen the show, but much of the lore on demons is taken from the show.

So would it still be fanfiction?

8 years ago

Yes. It's still based off the show, right? Is the setting the same? Is it in the same timeline of the show?

8 years ago

No, the setting is not the same. It has no interaction with the canon events of the show, nor the characters. It's just the creature(which is a fairly generalized creature, not something specific like, I don't know, a Hobbit from Lord of the Rings or a House Elf from Harry Potter). I'm just a little confused because it's pretty vague for fanfiction, but the creature was not created by me.

8 years ago

What's the show?

8 years ago