Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

General Advice?

6 years ago
Hey y'all ^_^

I'm new to the site, and just started working on my first storygame. I've read through the tutorial threads, but I was wondering if you guys had any advice for a new author that I may not have thought of. Thanks in advance!

General Advice?

6 years ago
Show, don't tell.

Write in the active voice.

Use proper grammar and spelling.

Plan your story out before you start writing.

Consider time and word-count goals and limitations when developing scope.

General Advice?

6 years ago
Thanks for all those great points!

Could you elaborate a bit on "Consider time and word-count goals and limitations when developing scope." ? I understand the basics of what it means, but as I've never written a storygame before, I'm not entirely certain what sort of time or word-count goals I should be shooting for. I know about the 1-8 ranking system, but what length or word count would qualify as "too short" or "too long?"

General Advice?

6 years ago
Commended by EndMaster on 2/15/2018 5:04:52 PM

There's no such thing as too long for a good storygame. It's pretty hard to make a good one though with under ~4k words (normally). Writing also takes a bit longer due to organizing a branching story together. That's not even considering the use of scripting.

Storygames are really deceptive to write. Let's say you have a plot that should take 5k words to finsih. It'd normally be a short story, but as a storygame you decide to have three branches. Now, the "short" story has turned into 15k words (5kx3). A small work can easily multiply into something gargantuan before it is even written. Oh, let's say there's wrong choices in you story as well leading to a quick ending along the 3 5k paths. It could add 2k each which puts your story to 21k words.