Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

Chapter Question

4 years ago

I think my question got answered in another post, but I did't see specifics (just that I can't edit an already published story)

But even if you publish Chapter 1, can you still add additional chapters afterwards?  Or do you have to have everything finished before you can publish everything?

I've been working on this fic for over a year, and I'm so happy to find this place where I can share it!

BTW, I'm a newbie.  Hello!

Chapter Question

4 years ago
You can publish, but once you publish something you can't make any changes without unpublishing it. Once you've unpublished it, you can add chapters all you want. However, beware: some readers won't really read re-published stories. You will be much better off waiting until the entire thing is done and completed before you publish it. Welcome to the site!

Chapter Question

4 years ago
Commended by JJJ-thebanisher on 8/24/2019 2:04:16 AM

Ogre covered it pretty well.

I just want to add that unlike some writing sites, this site highly discourages publishing 'chapter by chapter'. In fact, doing so is really not the standard or the expectation. Unpublishing and republishing a story will also mean it no longer shows under the new games section, it will also retain all comments (which means the comments may be misleading if you changed a lot). Demos are also almost always disliked.

Here it is highly encouraged to published finished works.

With that said, if you want feedback or to share an incomplete storygame, there is a sneak preview option under storygame settings which allows the storygame to be accessed without being published. If you actually want feedback when doing this, it is a good idea to make a thread in the Writing Workshop so that people know you actually want feedback (as sneak preview is on by default).