Non-threaded

Forums » The Lounge » Read Thread

A place to sit back, hang out, and make monkey noises about anything you'd like.

Time Management

one year ago

I've always struggled with balancing work, life, and writing. As of recently (literally just last night) I set up a writing schedule where i block out three hours every day in January to write and be left alone. As I've never done anything like that before, I don't know how successful it will be. Just in case that falls through or if anyone has suggestions that may go along with this one, I'd greatly appreciate the help. What also goes hand in hand with this is burnout, another thing I struggle with. If there is anything I can do to avoid burnout that would probably aid in my time management. 

Time Management

one year ago
Three hours seems like a lot. I suggest having a firm start time and no set end. If you're in the groove you'll go for a while, and knowing you can stop at any time will help avoid burnout.

Time Management

one year ago

That's not a bad idea. It'd also let me figure out what I can and can't handle. Thanks!

Time Management

one year ago

Here's some general advice on crafting a schedule to suit your writing style:

1) Don't be too ambitious. I agree with Ninja that three hours is a lot, particularly since you've never done a schedule before, so that is going to put you at a strong risk of burnout. My goal for the past three weeks has been 100 words daily, which is very low, but it's working out to an average of 844 daily, since the hard part is just getting started. So I strongly recommend under-setting your goal rather than over-setting it. The usual recommended starter's amount is 15 minutes, or 100 words if you're doing a word-count based goal.

2) Have a backup plan. If you're not meeting your goal, pick a smaller goal rather than giving up on it altogether.