Non-threaded

Forums » Writing Workshop » Read Thread

Find proofreaders here, useful resources, and share opinions and advice on story crafting.

I need advice!

11 years ago

I'm new to this (I started today) and i'm planning to make a game called warriors vs mages with more information on my profile.

Good idea, bad idea, suggestions? Happy for any feedback, good or bad!

I need advice!

11 years ago

It looks like it will be a high fantasy medieval story, so here's my advice on that particular genre: The high fantasy medieval genre has, at its core, been done to death (much like cyberpunk and sci fi has been done to death). What you will need to do to make your story stand out is incorporate things into it that you wouldn't really see in other stories. For instance, create new kinds of magic other than the traditional white and black variety. Necromancy, floramancy, things like that. The stranger the kind of -mancy the better (I'd love to see a story with an aquamancer, or perhaps even a drakomancer!).

Including odd technology to give it a more punk-ish feel could be good too. Not neccesarily complex machines or firearms, but something along the lines.

All in all, all high fantasy stories are inherently good, it's just that they get dragged down into atypical fantasy substances. Go out there, be different, think outside the box, and I guarantee you'll end up with a great story people will want to read. :)

I need advice!

11 years ago

Yeah, I definitely agree with the last paragraph. That sums everything about writing high fantasy up except that I'd add that amidst the plot, setting and history of the world, characters are often forgotten. Write compelling, lifelike characters and your story will go far even if it's not got some excellent world or plot. The converse is not true... stock characters in an amazing world will always fall flat.

I need advice!

11 years ago