Non-threaded

Forums » Newbie Central » Read Thread

Introduce yourself and get to know the community.

POV modes

2 months ago
Generally, it makes sense that most of the stories written on this forum are written in second person, referring to the reader as the main player. However, I am curious if it is possible to make a story written from a different perspective in a way that doesn't feel off-putting. Third person and first person are probably not preferred in general simply because it would seem like you're making choices for another person which they have control over, which I guess could be considered a form of Calvinism. As far as it goes, I am an amateur writer and am not a terribly good writer, so anything experimental would be a challenge for me, but I wonder if you guys have any thoughts on this concept.

POV modes

2 months ago
I think third person works perfectly fine. I find second person to be fun myself, especially because this is one of the only mediums you can use it in, but third person isn't bad. First person might be challenging, but it should be fine.

POV modes

2 months ago
Hmm... What about first person makes it more difficult than, say, third person? I have never seen anyone try to write a story in first person with this medium. The concept sounds challenging, but there might be a way to fix the break of immersion of controlling a character who you either are forced to identify as, but presumably you aren't necessarily in "full control" either. One thing that breaks immersion for me when I'm playing a normal game in second person is that the character you're supposed to identify as has thoughts that aren't your own, and judges things according to their personality characteristics.

POV modes

2 months ago